Proud to be a fundraiser

Fundraisers should use pride, not apology, when asking for a gift for a charity that is doing good work. – Henry Rosso

Over the last year, fundraisers and non-profit organisations have taken a bashing in the media. However, I think I speak for many fundraisers when I say that we are not the cold-hearted, money-grabbing villains that many papers would have the public believe. Many fundraisers care deeply about the projects made possible by their work and are genuinely grateful to donors for helping to make dreams a reality for hundreds of recipients.

Why then, are fundraisers as a whole, expected to bow down and apologise for our chosen profession? I am proud of the work I do and I honestly care about the work my charity makes possible. I know many wonderful fundraisers and I refuse to be ashamed of the profession that I truly believe helps to change the world!

‘Instead of hanging our heads in shame the sector should be uniting and shouting from the rooftops about the amazing work we do, work which is only made possible by asking people for money.’ Anonymous quote from an article in the Guardian, which you can read below.

#NotAshamed #FundraisingIsBeautiful #Proud

http://www.theguardian.com/voluntary-sector-network/2015/aug/07/im-proud-to-be-a-charity-fundraiser-and-i-stand-by-our-methods

Leave a Reply

